Monday, October 12, 2009

Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines

This week, I'm pleased to introduce you to a wonderful new book by Lise Haines, Girl in the Arena! This tour is sponsored by Children's Book Blog Tour and will run through Wednesday.

It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine. (Taken from Amazon)

When I first received this book, I thought to myself, "This just doesn't look like something that I would read." How wrong that assumption was! I just love the cover and it speaks volumes to this book. I grew up in the era of watching American Gladiators on TV and loved the idea of the gladiator life. I have also seen bits and pieces of movies featuring gladiators. This book, although a work of futuristic fiction, gives what seems a reasonable background into the Gladiator world. This book does make the American Gladiators look (and sound) like a bunch of overpaid sissies!

I can't speak to the statement about your enjoyment of this book based on your enjoyment of The Hunger Games and Fight Club as I have not read these books. Maybe one of these other bloggers can help you out with that one!

Abby the Librarian

A Patchwork of Books

All About Children’s Books

Becky’s Book Reviews

Fireside Musings

Homeschool Book Buzz

Maw Books Blog

My Own Little Corner of the World

Reading is My Superpower

Through a Child’s Eyes

Thanks to Bloomsbury USA for generously providing me with an ARC of this book for review.

Bookmark and Share

No comments:

Post a Comment